Melting Clouds

How do you spend the hours of your day? We are usually forced to vigilantly track hours for our jobs, but do we hold ourselves to the same standards when it comes to our life lived?

In Mexico I lavished in the “Laid Back Latin Life” (coupled with my West Coast upbringing, I was very relaxed!). Which I loved. I like to just sit and think whatever thought comes into my mind, even if it’s something as mundane and obvious as, “the sky is blue, I’m thirsty, that bird is loud…” It’s kind of stream of consciousness thinking; if I give allowance to my dull thoughts, sometimes one of them ends up being really inspired.

A few years ago, my imaginative Aunt (Happy Birthday today!) taught me how to “melt clouds away.” She asked me matter-of-fact if I knew how to do it, like you would ask someone if they know how to ride a bike. Surprisingly, I did not. She tells me to find a cloud, start with a small one when you are learning, and stare at it; watch it move and dissipate, thinning until eventually it melts away into the sky before your very eyes. Then you have melted away your first cloud.

Have you ever taken the time, putting aside our technology and schedules and short attention spans, to melt a cloud? It takes a little patience, but I think you might like it.

Leave a Reply

