The Ballet.

Last week I had the privilege of watching Cinderella fall for her Prince though the Mariinsky Ballet at the Kennedy Center. One of the only New Year’s Resolutions I have actually kept is experiencing one ‘professional’ performing arts event per quarter this year. It has proved to be one of my best resolutions and enlightened me to the importance of such soul-invigorating experiences. I feel so alive when I hear an entire orchestra of dozens of people playing instruments made up of hundreds of parts; listening to it all come together right before my ears into a poetic story that once was made of black dots and squiggles on a funny lined paper. Not to mention the dancing that has been meticulously choreographed yet somehow still exudes a beautiful freedom in its movement. Needless to say, I loved the ballet. Below is a peek at a piece inspired by the glass-slipper cinder-girl and her royal audience.

Leave a Reply

